Entries Open for Resilience Realized Awards

The Resilience Realized awards programme is a new, multi-year collaboration between Wood and The Resilience Shift that will give recognition to projects around the world that are at the cutting edge of resilience and have demonstrated a comprehensive and thoughtful approach to building resilience in communities.

It will put a spotlight on organizations and governments that are inspiring transformational change in what they do and how they do it to create resilient outcomes ready for current and future uncertainties.

Launched at COP26, the new awards programme will showcase inspiring examples of resilient infrastructure and the pioneering teams behind them who chose to do things differently. All facets of society urgently need to build asset and infrastructure resilience to climate change and other uncertainties, such as pandemics, cyberterrorism, system failure or other emerging areas of vulnerability.

Showcasing resilience best-practice

Resilience Realized aims to bring together leading examples of innovative approaches to creating resilient infrastructure systems and develop a comprehensive case study library to showcase the best. It will serve as a vital resource for those working in infrastructure to find inspiration in tackling their own resilience challenges and it will foster a global community to share knowledge.

The awards panel is comprised of internationally recognised leaders of the global resilience and climate communities, including representatives from the UN, World Bank, C40, ASCE and others.  They represent a diversity of perspectives, experience, and geographies and we are delighted to be able to offer selected semi-finalist projects the opportunity to engage with and achieve the recognition of our panel of judges.

Resilience Realized represents a gold standard for asset and infrastructure projects. Organizations that submit entries will also be contributing to a valuable resource for practitioners, with the potential for their ideas to be used as best practice worldwide. In addition to engagement with our esteemed panel of judges, winning project teams will have the opportunity to have their projects promoted by Wood and Resilience Shift as examples of excellence.

“The Resilience Realized Awards will show that transformative change is still possible and that we can make a practical difference to the state of the planet and the quality of people’s lives.”

Debra Roberts, Co-Chair IPCC & City Of Durban

Entering the awards 

The awards seek entries from projects that show how they have enhanced whole system resilience. How did the project’s purpose and desired outcome improve upon or benefit all stakeholders involved including the community of end users? Resilience Realized want to understand not what the project is, but what it does and how it ensures resilient outcomes.

For the 2021-22 Awards cycle, the focus should relate to energy resilience but can originate from any sector.

Entries should:

  • Relate to the resilience of physical assets and/or infrastructure systems.
  • Be implemented – whether embedded into systemic change and practice, newly built or a completed retrofit.
  • Demonstrate how resilience has been embedded into the project and where at different stages of the infrastructure lifecycle and value chain, a difference has been made that contributes to enhanced resilience.
  • Demonstrate evidence of whole system thinking and a hazard-agnostic or multi-hazard approach.

If you think your project is a good fit, please complete a submission through the Resilience Realized website. Submissions are welcome from all types of eligible projects, whether big or small, and from different settings and contexts around the world. The aim is to inspire, motivate and enable resilience creation across infrastructure systems.

Entries are now open until end-March 2022Find out more at: www.resilience-realized.org